Manchester City UCL Record and Updated Squad

Manchester City Football Club is an English professional football club that competes in the Premier League, the highest level of English football. The club moved to the Etihad Stadium in east Manchester in 2003, having played at Maine Road since 1923. In 1894, Manchester City adopted a sky-blue home kit under its current name during the club’s first season.

Full nameManchester City Football Club
Short nameMan City, City
1st Founded1880; 143 years ago as St. Mark’s (West Gorton)
2nd Founded1887; 136 years ago as Ardwick Association F.C.
3rd Founded16 April 1894; 129 years ago as Manchester City F.C.
GroundEtihad Stadium
OwnerCity Football Group Limited
ChairmanKhaldoon Al Mubarak
ManagerPep Guardiola
LeaguePremier League
2022–23Premier League, 1st of 20 (champions)

Where to Live Stream UCL online

Manchester City Progress Summary

  • Manchester City is one of the most decorated teams in England, and their thirty-two main domestic and European trophies rank them fifth on the list of the most decorated sides in England, ahead of Tottenham Hotspur with 26 and behind Chelsea with 34.
  • Before 1904, the club had won three regional Manchester Cups. However, the 1904 F.A. Cup was the club’s first major trophy. Their first league championship occurred in 1936–1937, and their first Charity Shield was won the following August. City’s first League Cup and European trophy were both won after the 1969–70 season, the two trophies also constituting the club’s first double.
  • In the 2018–19 season, City became the first team to capture all of the leading English trophies available in a single season, winning not only the Premier League, F.A. Cup, and League Cup but also the Community Shield.
  • Manchester City claimed their first European trophy in 1970 when they defeated Górnik Zabrze 2–1 to win the Cup Winners’ Cup. They have reached the Champions League final twice, losing their first-ever final in 2021 but gaining their first title in 2023, defeating Inter Milan 1-0 in the final and becoming only the second English club to win the continental treble.
  • With seven league championships, Manchester City and Leicester City share the record for most Second Division titles gained by clubs. Their earliest triumph occurred in 1898–99, and their most recent in 2001–02.

Manchester City Current Squad

2DFEngland Kyle Walker
3DFPortugal Rúben Dias
4MFEngland Kalvin Phillips
5DFEngland John Stones
6D.F.Netherlands Nathan Aké
7DFPortugal João Cancelo
8M.F.Croatia Mateo Kovačić
9F.W.Norway Erling Haaland
10MFEngland Jack Grealish
13G.K.United States Zack Steffen
14DFSpain Aymeric Laporte
16MFSpain Rodri
17M.F.Belgium Kevin De Bruyne
18GKGermany Stefan Ortega
19F.W.Argentina Julián Álvarez
20M.F.Portugal Bernardo Silva
21DFSpain Sergio Gómez
25DFSwitzerland Manuel Akanji
26F.W.Algeria Riyad Mahrez
31G.K.Brazil Ederson
32M.F.Argentina Máximo Perrone
33GKEngland Scott Carson
47MFEngland Phil Foden
80MFEngland Cole Palmer
82DFEngland Rico Lewis
97DFEngland Josh Wilson-Esbrand

Manchester City Champions League Record

 Closing PositionPWDL
2019-2020Quarter Finals9621
2018-2019Quarter Finals10712
2017-2018Quarter Finals10604
2016-2017Round of 1610532
2014-2015Round of 168224
2013-2014Round of 168503
2012-2013Group Stage6033
2011-2012Group Stage6312
1968-1969First Round2011

Has RB Leipzig Ever Won the Champions League

Manchester City has participated in the Champions League thirteen times, including every season since 2011/12, and won their first championship in 2023.

Leave a Comment