SL Benfica UCL Record and Updated Squad

Sport Lisboa e Benfica is a pro football club based in Lisbon, Portugal, which competes in the Primeira Liga, the highest level of Portuguese football, and is the current champion.

Benfica, along with rivals Sporting CP and FC Porto, is one of the “Big Three” clubs in Portugal that have never been relegated from the Primeira Liga since its inception on 28 February 1904 as Sport Lisboa. As Guias (The Eagles) and Os Encarnados (The Reds) are nicknames for Benfica, based on the symbol atop the club’s insignia and the colour of the team’s jerseys, respectively.

Benfica is the most loved and supported Portuguese and the European club securing the highest percentage of supporters in Portugal, with an estimated 14 million supporters worldwide and more than 250,000 members, making it the largest sports club in Portugal and the second largest in the world by membership. “Ser Benfiquista” alludes to Benfica fans, who are known as benfiquistas. “E pluribus unum” is the club’s motto; the mascot’s name is Guia Vitória.

NameSport Lisboa e Benfica
Established28 February 1904, as Sport Lisboa
GroundEstádio da Luz
PresidentRui Costa
Head coachRoger Schmidt
LeaguePrimeira Liga
2022–23Primeira Liga, 1st of 18 (champions)

Live Stream Champions League for Free

SL Benfica Progress Summary

  • Benfica has won 85 major trophies, making it the most decorated club in Portugal. They won 82 domestic trophies: a record 38 Primeira Liga titles, a record 26 Taca de Portugal, a record 7 Taca da Liga, 8 Supertaca Candido de Oliveira and 3 Campeonato de Portugal.
  • They won Latin Cup in 1950 and consecutive European Cups in 1961, 1962. SL Benfica remained runners-up at the Intercontinental Cup in 1961 and ’62, at the UEFA Cup/Europa League in 1983, 2013 and ’14 and at European Cup in 1963, ’65, ’68, ’88 and ’90.
  • In 2014, Benfica’s ten appearances in European finals set a domestic record and ranked seventh all-time among UEFA clubs. Benfica is awarded the Portuguese Orders of Christ (Commander), Merit (Officer), and Prince Henry for non-competitive achievements.
  • Benfica ranked 12th in the FIFA Club of the Century and 9th in the IFFHS Top 200 European clubs of the 20th Century.
  • In 2022–23 season, Benfica ranks eighth in the all-time UEFA club rankings and seventeenth in the UEFA coefficient club rankings. Benfica holds the record for the most significant aggregate European Cup victory, set in 1965–1966, and has the second-most participation in the UEFA Champions League (42). In addition, Benfica holds European record for the most successive wins in a domestic league (29), in which they became the first undefeated champions in 1972–73.

SL Benfica Current Squad

24GKPortugal Samuel Soares
42FWCape Verde Gilson Benchimol
43DFBrazil Tiago Coser
44DFAlbania Adrian Bajrami
45GKJapan Leo Kokubo
46FWPortugal Gerson Sousa
47DFSlovenia Amir Feratovič
51FWPortugal João Resende
52DFPortugal Henrique Pereira
53DFPortugal Ricardo Teixeira
57FWPortugal José Precatado
58MFAngola Maestro
60MFPortugal Nuno Félix
62DFFrance Lenny Lacroix
65DFPortugal Rafael Rodrigues
68MFPortugal João Veloso
70MFPortugal Filipe Cruz
71DFPortugal João Tomé
73MFItaly Cher Ndour
74MFSlovenia Žan Jevšenak
75GKPortugal André Gomes
76MFPortugal Martim Neto
78DFPortugal Francisco Domingues
80MFPortugal Pedro Santos
81MFPortugal Tomás Azevedo
87MFPortugal João Neves
89FWBrazil João Neto
90FWPortugal Luís Semedo
92GKPortugal Pedro Souza
96MFPortugal Diego Moreira
97FWPortugal Ricardo Marques
DFUnited States Joshua Wynder

SL Benfica Champions League Record

 Position FinishedPWDL
2022-2023Quarter Finals141031
2021-2022Quarter Finals14653
2020-2021Third Qualifying Round1001
2019-2020Group Stage6213
2018-2019Group Stage10433
2017-2018Group Stage6123
2016-2017Round of 168323
2015-2016Quarter Finals10523
2014-2015Group Stage6123
2013-2014Group Stage6312
2012-2013Group Stage6222
2011-2012Quarter Finals14653
2010-2011Group Stage6204
2007-2008Group Stage8413
2006-2007Group Stage8323
2005-2006Quarter Finals10433
2004-2005Third Qualifying Round2101
2003-2004Third Qualifying Round2002

Has SL Benfica Ever Won the Champions League

Yes, SL Benfica won the Champions League in 1961 and 1962.

Leave a Comment