SSC Napoli UCL Record and Updated Squad

Sportiva Calcio Society The Napoli football team competes in Serie A, the first division of Italian football, and is an Italian professional football club with its home base in Naples. After winning the Serie A title in the 2022–2023 season, Napoli are the reigning champions of Italy. Napoli has won three Serie A titles, six Coppa Italia titles, two Supercoppa Italiana titles, and one UEFA Cup during its history.

In terms of attendance, Napoli has the fourth-largest fan base in Italy. With $182 million in income during the 2017–18 season, Napoli was listed as the fifth-highest football club in Serie A.

Live Stream Champions League Online

NameSSC Napoli
GroundStadio Diego Armando Maradona
OwnerFilmauro S.r.l.
PresidentAurelio De Laurentiis
ManagerRudi Garcia
LeagueSerie A
2022–23Serie A, 1st of 20 (champions)

SSC Napoli Over the Years

On June 30, 1984, Napoli purchased Diego Maradona from Barcelona for €12 million, shattering the previous record for the most expensive transfer ever. Ciro Ferrara, Salvatore Bagni, and Fernando De Napoli were among the players who progressively filled out the roster.

The 1986–87 season marked a turning moment in Napoli’s history thanks to the offensive trio of Maradona, Bruno Giordano, and Careca (also known as MaGiCa). Napoli became only the third Italian side to win the double after winning the Serie A title by three points and then defeating Atalanta 4-0 to win the Coppa Italia.

In the 1989–90 season, Napoli won the Serie A championship for the second time after beating Milan by two points. A 100 lire coin was thrown at Alemo’s head by an Atalanta supporter in Bergamo, which resulted in Napoli receiving two points for the match. However, these events were accompanied by less favourable conditions.

When Maradona asked Neapolitans to support Argentina in the semi-final match against Italy in Naples in 1990, he raised issues of risorgimento and North-South disparity in the nation. This sparked a contentious chain of events.

Following a 1-1 tie with Udinese on May 4, 2023, Napoli clinched the Serie A championship for the first time since the 1989–90 season and for the third time overall. This was their first season as titleholders since Diego Maradona. In the meanwhile, Spaletti guided them to their first-ever European quarterfinal appearance in the Champions League season. However, they were defeated 2-1 (1-0 away from home and 1-1 at home) by fellow Serie A team AC Milan in that round.

SSC Napoli Current Squad

No PositionPlayer Name
1 GKBrazil Rafael Cabral
5 MFBrazil Allan
6 DFPortugal Mário Rui
7 FWSpain José Callejón
8 MFItaly Jorginho
11 DFItaly Christian Maggio
14 FWBelgium Dries Mertens
17 MFSlovakia Marek Hamšík
18 FWBrazil Leandrinho
20 MFPoland Piotr Zieliński
21 DFRomania Vlad Chiricheș
22 GKItaly Luigi Sepe
23 DFAlbania Elseid Hysaj
24 FWItaly Lorenzo Insigne
25 GKSpain Pepe Reina
26 DFSenegal Kalidou Koulibaly
27 MFFrance Zinédine Machach
30 MFCroatia Marko Rog
31 DFAlgeria Faouzi Ghoulam
33 DFSpain Raúl Albiol
37 MFAlgeria Adam Ounas
42 MFGuinea Amadou Diawara
62 DFItaly Lorenzo Tonelli
99 FWPoland Arkadiusz Milik

SSC Napoli Champions League Record

 Position FinishedPWDL
2022-2023Quarter Finals10712
2019-2020Roud of 168341
2018-2019Group Stage6231
2017-2018Group Stage8404
2016-2017Roud of 168323
2013-2014Group Stage6402
2011-2012Round of 168422
1990-1991Second Round4220
1987-1988First Round2011

Has SSC Napoli Ever Won the Champions League

No, SSC Napoli has never won any Champions League title.

Leave a Comment